Courses

AHST 4342-501 (27532)

History of Media and New Media Art

Spring 2018

Dr. Charissa N. Terranova

University of Texas at Dallas

Arts & Humanities

Tuesdays-Thursdays 1:00-2:15

Class Location: CB 1.106
 

Office Hours: Tuesday 2:30-3:30

and by appointment

Office Location: ATC 2.704

Contact: terranova@utdallas.edu

www.charissaterranova.com

Syllabus

Updated Reading Schedule

1.) Tuesday 01/09/18 Course Introduction: What is New Media Art?

2.) Thursday 01/11/18 Introduction to Terms: Medium, Media, Mediation, Remediation and Recursion

3.) Tuesday 01/16/18 Painting, the Daguerreotype, and Telegraph in the work of Samuel FB Morse

4.) Thursday 01/18/18 Discussion: Painting, the Daguerreotype, and Telegraph in the work of SFB Morse

5.) Tuesday 01/23/18 Photograph: The Construction of Vision

6.) Thursday 01/25/18 Discussion of Photograph: The Construction of Vision

7.) Tuesday 01/30/18 Chronophotography: Capturing Time and Movement in Image​

8.) Thursday 02/01/18 Discussion of Chronophotography

9.) Tuesday 02/06/18 Experimentalism: From Film to Montage

10.) Thursday 02/08/18 Discussion of Film, Montage, and Mainframes

11.) Tuesday 02/13/18 Georges Perec and Thinking Machines

12.) Thursday 02/15/18 Discussion of Georges Perec and Thinking Machines

13.) Tuesday 02/20/18 New Tendencies, Op Art, and Gestalt Psychology 

14.) Tuesday 02/27/18 Discussion of New Tendencies and Op Art

15.) Thursday 03/01/18 Sound and Algorithms: Between Alvin Lucier and John Cage​

16.) Tuesday 03/06/18 Fluxus and Computers

17.) Thursday 03/08/18 Discussion of Fluxus and Computers 

18.) Tuesday 03/20/18 Sound, Algorithms, and Performance Art

19.) Tuesday 03/27/18 Discussion of Sound, Algorithms, and Performance Art

20.) Thursday 03/29/18 Early Computer Art

21.) Tuesday 04/03/18 Mainframe Experimentalism, TVs, and Distributed Networks

22.) Thursday 04/05/18 Discussion of Mainframe Experimentalism, TVs, and Distributed Networks

23.) Tuesday 04/10/18 Experimental Exhibitions

24.) Thursday 04/12/18 Discussion of Experimental Exhibitions

25.) Tuesday 04/17/18 Hallucinations and Hippie Modernism

26.) Thursday 04/19/18 Discussion of Hallucinations and Hippie Modernism

27.) Tuesday 04/24/18 Biology in Art

28.) Thursday 04/26/18 Immersion and New Media Art: Stan Vanderbeek​

  • Facebook Clean

@ 2018 Charissa N. Terranova
 

Follow me

Call

T: 972-883-4394   F: 972-883-2989