Courses

AHST 2331-001 (21414)

Understanding Art

Dr. Charissa N. Terranova

Spring 2018

Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:30-12:45

ATC 1.102

 

Office Hours: Tuesday 2:30-3:30

and by appointment

Office Location: ATC 2.704

Contact: terranova@utdallas.edu

 

Teaching Assistants:

Linda Anderson: lka160130@utdallas.edu

Francesca Brunetti: fxb140730@utdallas.edu

Daniel Christmann: dwc170030@utdallas.edu

Elham Christine Khiabani: eck130030@utdallas.edu

Syllabus

Revised Syllabus April 2018

Mid-Term Exam Review

Final Exam Review

Extra Credit Assignment

PowerPoint Presentations:

1.) Tuesday 01/09/18 Introduction, Techne, and Prehistoric Cave Drawings

2.) Thursday 01/11/18 Screening of Film, Werner Herzog's Cave of Forgotten Dreams

3.) Tuesday 01/16/18 Quiz #1 and Discussion

4.) Thursday 01/18/18 Roman Urbanism, Architecture, and Infrastructure

5.) Tuesday 01/23/18 Roman Interiors and Paintings​

6.) Thursday 01/25/18 Quiz #2 and Discussion

7.) Tuesday 01/30/18 Immersion Across Time: VR in the Middle Ages (cont'd) + Hagia Sophia

8.) Thursday 02/01/18 Quiz #3 and Discussion

9.) Tuesday 02/06/18 Mosque of Cordoba: Spolia and Repetition of Forms​

10.) Thursday 02/08/18 Quiz #4 and Discussion

11.) Tuesday 02/13/18 Screening of Film, Cathedral, narrated by David Macaulay

12.) Thursday 02/15/18 Quiz #5 and Discussion

13.) Tuesday 02/20/18 Optics, Lenses, and Prosthetic Vision​

14.) Tuesday 03/06/18 Painting with Grids: The Dutch Golden Age

15.) Thursday 03/08/18 Quiz #7 and Discussion

16.) Tuesday 03/20/18 Rolling Through the Landscape and Spatial Surrounds: Trains and Panoramas​

17.) Thursday 03/22/18 Panorama: Quiz #8 and Discussion of Virtual Reality as Propaganda

18.) Tuesday 03/27/18 Mobile Prosthetics: Automobiles and Highways

19.) Thursday 03/29/18 Quiz #9 and Discussion of Mobile Prosthetics 

20.) Tuesday 04/03/18 Virtual Realities in Painting, Photography, and Film

21.) Thursday 04/05/18 Virtual Realities in Painting, Photography, and Film (continued)

22.) Tuesday 04/10/18 Screening of Film, Dziga Vertov's The Man with a Movie Camera

23.) Thursday 04/12/18 Virtual Realities Constructed, Edited, and Made: Film and Montage

24.) Tuesday 04/17/18 Collage + Critical Thinking/The Digital Image in Art – The Backdrop of Virtual Reality ​

25.) Thursday 04/19/18 Discussion of The Digital Image in Art -- The Backdrop of Virtual Reality

26.) Tuesday 04/26/18 Biology in Art

  • Facebook Clean

@ 2018 Charissa N. Terranova
 

Follow me

Call

T: 972-883-4394   F: 972-883-2989